What is the 1922 Committee and who are the members?

What is the 1922 Committee and who are the members?

- in Usa News

THE 1922 Committee may not be a name you’re familiar with – but they play a crucial role in ousting Prime Ministers who have lost the confidence of their party.

Made up of backbench Tory MPs, the group is critical for any aspiring leader of the Conservatives. Here’s what you need to know…

Leading members of the 1922 Committee pictured in 2010, with chairman Graham Brady MP sitting third from the right

How does the 1922 Committee work?

The 1922 Committee — formally known as the Conservative Private Members’ Committee — assembles weekly when Parliament is in session.

It gives backbench Tory MPs the chance to air their concerns, report on constituency work and co-ordinate legislative agendas.

And all this is done without fear of reprisal from Cabinet ministers (or Shadow Cabinet frontbenchers if the Tories are in opposition) because they are not permitted to be formal members.

Only since 2010 have frontbenchers been given an open invitation to attend meetings.

They are still under the control of the party whips, so their ability to stoke insurrection is partly limited.

But it is the Committee that assesses, organises and ballots on leadership challenges — meaning its power, when called upon, can be huge.

This happened when chair Graham Brady received enough votes for to bring a motion of confidence against Theresa May on December 12, 2018.

The move ultimately failed, with May winning a majority of 83, with 200 Conservative MPs voting for her to remain, and 117 voting against her.

She cannot be challenged through the same mechanism now for a year, although critics said winning only 63 per cent of the vote left her without a strong mandate.

Theresa May
Theresa May would face the prospect of a leadership challenge if enough letters of no confidence are submitted to the committee

Who are the key figures in the 1922 Committee?

The Committee has an 18-member executive that organises weekly meetings and other business.

They earned the nickname “men in suits” or “men in grey suits” in the 1980s after prompting the resignation of Margaret Thatcher.

Former Chair Graham Brady stood down in May 2019, but continued on as acting chair.

A full list of the current members:

  • Sir Graham Brady (acting chair)
  • Dame Cheryl Gillan (joint vice chair)
  • Sir Charles Walker (joint vice chair)
  • Bob Blackman (joint executive secretary)
  • Nigel Evans (joint executive secretary)
  • Geoffrey Clifton-Brown (treasurer)
  • Kemi Badenoch
  • Bernard Jenkin
  • John Lamont
  • Pauline Latham
  • Jeremy Lefroy
  • Sheryll Murray
  • Mark Pawsey
  • Antoinette Sandbach
  • Alec Shelbrooke
  • John Stevenson
  • Bill Wiggin
  • William Wragg

How does it carry out leadership challenges?

Unless the leader steps down voluntarily, a leadership challenge usually begins with a vote of no confidence being called.

This is triggered when 15 per cent of Tory MPs write a letter to the 1922 Committee chairman.

It takes 48 letters to be submitted to trigger a vote.

This last happened when former chair Graham Brady announced this minority had been reached on December 12, 2018.

And before that, the last time was in 2003, when 25 MPs wrote to spark a vote on then leader Iain Duncan Smith, who was ousted a day later.


Where does the 1922 Committee get its name from?

The 1922 Committee was actually founded in 1923.

But its name comes from a famous meeting the previous year in which Conservative MPs called for the party to pull out of the coalition with the Liberals, led by PM David Lloyd George.

This move triggered a General Election which the Tories then won.

The committee first started out as a private dining club but quickly expanded and by 1926 all Conservative backbench MPs were permitted to be members.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

You may also like

Christmas post chaos feared as Royal Mail staff vote to strike over festive season

POSTIES have voted to bring havoc to Christmas